One Power Strengths



Strength in the One Power is something many people argue over and rarely reach a consensus on. It has been stated in the text that women are, normally, far weaker than men overall but Robert Jordan himself has stated that a womanís dexterity with the One Power makes up for her lack of strength and, in turn, the strongest man and the strongest woman are basically equals. Personally I think itís a copout on RJís part Ė women have the ability to link, and that should even the score Ė but since he stated the rules, we will have to go along with them.


For that reason, I have created a ten-point strength scale that contains relative strengths for both men and women. I have included some of the key characters on this scale, as well as any originals in the gameÖif you wish to play a character not listed, let me know and we will rank that character as well. If you wish to play an original character, we will rank him/her as well, taking into consideration that the average female strength is a 2 and the average male strength is around 5. The numbers I have come up with are not arbitrary, so if you have questions feel free to contact me.


A few notes:


1.A difference of two full points is considered a large difference in strength, enough so that the person with the higher strength could easily break a shield woven by the person with lesser strength or shield the person with lesser strength even if he/she is holding the One Power.


2.A difference of one full point is still a fairly significant difference in strength.


3. A power rating of 0.1 is the minimum one needs to be able to channel.


4. If you pick a character who is already at the White Tower, remember no one there was stronger than Moiraine.



Level 10:††††† Lews Therin Telamon

Rand alíThor

†††††††††††††††††† Ishamael/Moridin


Level 9.9:†††† Lanfear

†††††††††††††††††† Demandred

†††††††††††††††††† Logain

†††††††††††††††††† Mazrim Taim

†††††††††††††††††† Elnore Mandragoran


Level 9.5:†††† Sammael


Level 9.0:†††† Aginor

†††††††††††††††††† Beílal

†††††††††††††††††† Balthamel/Aranígar

†††††††††††††††††† Rahvin

†††††††††††††††††† Zarander Halifax (original character)


Level 8.5:†††† Cyndane

†††††††††††††††††† Alivia

†††††††††††††††††† Asmodean

†††††††††††††††††† Draven Tievel (original character)


Level 8.0:†††† Graendal

†††††††††††††††††† Sharina


Level 7.9:†††† Nynaeve ti alíMeara Mandragoran

†††††††††††††††††† Talaan

†††††††††††††††††† Semirhage

†††††††††††††††††† Mesaana


Level 7.0:†††† Jur Grady

†††††††††††††††††† Damer Flinn

†††††††††††††††††† Danton Ralse

†††††††††††††††††† Declan alíAgora (original character)


Level 6.0:†††† Moghedien

†††††††††††††††††† Someryn

†††††††††††††††††† Fager Neald


Level 5.0:†††† Egwene alíVere

†††††††††††††††††† Aviendha

†††††††††††††††††† Elayne Trakand

†††††††††††††††††† Bode Cauthon

†††††††††††††††††† Jahar Narishma

†††††††††††††††††† ****average male channeler****


Level 4.0:†††† Jaim Baylle (original character)


Level 3.0:†††† Cadsuane

†††††††††††††††††† Therava


Level 2.9:†††† Meilyn†††††††††


Level 2.8:†††† Nicola


Level 2.5:†††† Moiraine

†††††††††††††††††† Siuan (before being stilled)

†††††††††††††††††† Elaida

†††††††††††††††††† Romanda

†††††††††††††††††† Lelaine

†††††††††††††††††† Adelorna Bastine

†††††††††††††††††† Keylor Katerine (original character)


Level 2.4:†††† Amys

†††††††††††††††††† Sheriam

†††††††††††††††††† Reanne

†††††††††††††††††† Merise

†††††††††††††††††† Pevara

†††††††††††††††††† Yukiri

†††††††††††††††††† Saerin

†††††††††††††††††† Medorico Kasanagi (original character)


Level 2.3:†††† Myrelle

†††††††††††††††††† Carlinya

†††††††††††††††††† Morvrin

†††††††††††††††††† Bera

†††††††††††††††††† Kiruna

†††††††††††††††††† Nesune

†††††††††††††††††† Melaine


Level 2.2:†††† Delana

†††††††††††††††††† Rafela

†††††††††††††††††† Masuri

†††††††††††††††††† Katerine

†††††††††††††††††† Sumeko

†††††††††††††††††† Toveine

†††††††††††††††††† Shalon

†††††††††††††††††† Liandrin


Level 2.1:†††† Alanna

†††††††††††††††††† Verin

†††††††††††††††††† Seonid

†††††††††††††††††† Alviarin

†††††††††††††††††† Kurin

†††††††††††††††††† Falion

†††††††††††††††††† Tarna

†††††††††††††††††† **** Minimum level needed to Travel alone****

†††††††††††††††††† ****average level of Windfinders****


Level 2.0:†††† Demira

†††††††††††††††††† Aeldene

†††††††††††††††††† Merilille

†††††††††††††††††† Chesmal

†††††††††††††††††† Elza

†††††††††††††††††† Vandene

†††††††††††††††††† Adeleas

†††††††††††††††††† Kairen

†††††††††††††††††† Temaile

†††††††††††††††††† Zerah

†††††††††††††††††† ****level of average Aes Sedai****


Level 1.5:†††† Kumira

†††††††††††††††††† Therva (expert at reading residues)

†††††††††††††††††† Berowin (she is specialized in shielding, however, and does shields at a much higher level)


Level 1.1:††††† Siuan (after being stilled and healed)


Level 1.0:†††† Daigian (minimum level needed to become Aes Sedai)

†††††††††††††††††† Leane (after being stilled and healed)


Level 0.5:†††† Sorilea

†††††††††††††††††† Alise


Level 0.1:†††† Morgase Trakand